Translate

Globally Connected Classrooms: Two Case Studies in Literacy and Culture

Event Details

Globally Connected Classrooms: Two Case Studies in Literacy and Culture

Time: November 8, 2012 from 5pm to 6pm
Location: www.instantpresenter.com/edwebnet9
Website or Map: http://www.edWeb.net/ePals
Phone: 305 788 4302
Event Type: edweb, webinar
Organized By: Dr. Rita Oates
Latest Activity: Nov 7, 2012

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Join edWeb for two case studies of globally connected classrooms.  Starting at 5 pm Eastern Time, 4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific.

First we’ll see how Grade 4 students in New Hampshire schools worked with students in Australia on writing skills in a pen pal exchange.  Assistant Professor Dr. Nancy Charron from Southern New Hampshire University will show how the program also increased cultural knowledge for regular, ESE and ESL students. Dr. Charron will be joined by Adina Popa, the International Ambassador for Loudoun County Public Schools, who will share how suburban Washington, D.C., elementary students have multiple ways to connect, collaborate and learn using technology with students in other cities and countries, including videoconferencing, ePals, Xbox and more. Dr. Charron and Mrs. Popa will share practical strategies for successfully bringing the real world into student learning, emphasizing literacy skills, along with tips and guidelines for globalizing education in all subject areas.  Learn how to expand literacy and culture knowledge for your students with globally connected classrooms and free tools.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for Globally Connected Classrooms: Two Case Studies in Literacy and Culture to add comments!

Join The Global Education Conference Network

Attending (2)

© 2014   Created by Lucy Gray.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service